Document Actions

Five outstanding films compete for The Nordic Council Film Prize 2011

Five outstanding Nordic films are nominated for the coveted Nordic Council Film Prize 2011.


Five outstanding and very different Nordic films are candidates this year for the coveted Nordic Council Film Prize. Among the nomiated directors are Pernilla August, Árni Ólafur Ásgeirsson, Joachim Trier, Nikolaj Arcel and Zaida Bergroth. They are all in a tough competition with outstanding films, one from each of the Nordic countries, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.

To be nominated for the prize, worth DKK 350.000, the films must be embedded to a significant degree in Nordic culture, must be of high artistic quality, stand out in terms of artistic originality, and combine and refine the many elements of film in a convincing and integrated manner.

This year's five nominees are:

Sandheden Om Mænd (Truth About Men) - Denmark

Director: Nikolaj Arcel

Writers: Nikolaj Arcel, Rasmus Heisterberg

Producers: Meta Louise Foldager, Louise Vesth

Hyvä Poika (The Good Son) - Finland

Director: Zaida Bergroth / Writers: Jan Forsström, Zaida Bergroth

Producers: Elli Toivoniemi, Mark Lwoff, Misha Jaari

Brim (Undercurrent) - Iceland

Director: Árni Ólafur Ásgeirsson / Writers: Ottó Geir Borg, Árni Ólafur Ásgeirsson, Vesturport / Producers: Thor. S. Sigurjónsson, Skúli Fr. Malmquist, Grímar Jónsson, Gísli Örn Gardarsson

Oslo, 31. August (Oslo, August 31st) - Norway

Director: Joachim Trier / Writers: Joachim Trier, Eskil Vogt / Producer: Yngve Sæther, Sigve Endresen, Hans Jørgen Osnes

Svinalängorna (Beyond) - Sweden

Director: Pernilla August / Writers: Pernilla August, Lolita Ray / Producers: Helena Danielsson, Ralf Karlsson

About the Nordic Council Film Prize

The five national titles are selected by a jury consisting of two people in each of the five Nordic countries. Now that the five candidates have been chosen, a joint Nordic jury will convene to vote and select this year’s prize winner. This year’s Nordic Adjudication Committee consists of film critic Per Juul Carlsen (DK), communication manager Outi Heiskanen (FI), CEO Sif Gunarsdottir (IS), editor Silje Riise Næss (N) and film critic Fredrik Sahlin (S).

The winner of the Nordic Council Film Prize 2011 will be announced in October and will be presented with the prize at the Nordic Council’s Session in Copenhagen Tuesday 2 November.

In addition to the film prize, the Nordic Council awards annually a literature prize, a music prize, and a nature and environment prize. The objective of all of these prizes is to increase interest in the literature, language, music and film of Nordic neighbouring countries.

Motivations, production notes, pictures and generel information on The Nordic Council Film Prize:

To the editors:

Trailers from the five nominated films can be downloaded from: (user: ncfp_press2011 / password: ncfp)


For further information on the Nordic Council's Film Prize 2010, please contact Freddy Neumann, Neumann PR & Communication, Tlf +45 2046 7846,