Document Actions

The Nordic prime ministers

The prime ministers have overall responsibility for co-operation between the governments. They meet twice a year for that express purpose and also get together at other events.

The Helsinki Treaty is the foundation stone for Nordic co-operation and it stipulates that the prime ministers are responsible for all inter-governmental work.

As well as the regular ones – usually in June and during the autumn Session of the Nordic Council – meetings are now also held in advance of EU summits. The prime ministers of Iceland and Norway attend these meetings even though their countries are not members of the EU.

The prime ministers also usually hold a meeting with the heads of government from the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland during the annual autumn Session of the Nordic Council.

The prime minister of the country that holds the Presidency of the Council of Ministers reports back to the annual Session of the Nordic Council on the main features of the work done by the governments and outlines the priorities for the following year.  The Presidency lasts for one full calendar year and rotates between the five Nordic nations.


 Name   Function   Nationality 
Erna Solberg Prime Minister Norwegian
Juha Sipilä Prime Minister Finnish
Katrín Jakobsdóttir Prime Minister Icelandic
Lars Løkke Rasmussen Prime Minister Danish
Stefan Löfven Prime Minister Swedish


Kenneth Broman
Phone: +45 24 69 94 03