Document Actions

About the Nordic Council

The Nordic Council was formed in 1952. The Council has 87 elected members from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland.

Johannes Jansson/

The Council has 87 elected members. Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden have 20 members each. Of these, two of the Danish representatives are from the Faroe Islands and two from Greenland, while Finland has two representatives from Åland. Iceland has seven members.

Denmark, Iceland, Norway and Sweden were founding members of the Nordic Council when it was formed in 1952. Finland joined in 1955, the Faroe Islands and Åland in 1970 and Greenland in 1984. The Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland have exerted greater influence on Nordic co-operation since the Åland Documentwas adopted by the ministers for Nordic co-operation in Mariehamn, Åland, on 5 September 2007.

The members of the Council are members of the national parliaments, who are nominated by the party groups. There is no procedure for direct election to the Nordic Council.

The Nordic Council, which is run by a Presidium, gathers at two annual meetings;  the Ordinary Session and the Theme Session, at which the Nordic parliamentarians make decisions on issues that they call on the Nordic governments to implement.

The President, Vice-President and members of the Presidium for the forthcoming year are elected at the Ordinary Session every autumn. The Presidency rotates between the countries. The Ordinary Session is held in the country currently holding the presidency of the Nordic Council. The Theme Session is held every spring in the country currently holding the presidency of the Council of Ministers.

On-going political work in the Nordic Council is conducted through committees and party groups.

The Nordic Council is managed by a Secretariat which shares its premises with the Secretariat of the Nordic Council of Ministers in Copenhagen. There is also a national secretariat in each of the Nordic parliaments.

The Nordic Council and the Nordic Council of Ministers have a joint Department for Administration and Law (AJ).

Information activities are managed by a joint Communications Department.


Heidi Orava
Phone: +45 21 71 71 48