Document Actions

Countries and territories

Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, the Faroe Islands, Greenland, and Åland work together in the official Nordic co-operation.

Johannes Jansson/

Both the Nordic Council and the Nordic Council of Ministers have a number of partners and are active participants in other regional co-operations.

The Nordic Council participates in the Baltic Sea parliamentary co-operation in the BSPC by sending a delegation to the annual meeting and by representing its member countries in the organisation’s permanent committee. The Nordic Council has observer status in the permanent Standing Committee of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region (SCPAR), which is the parliamentary counterpart to the Arctic Council.

The Nordic Council of Ministers has observer status in the Arctic Council, which is the co-operative body for the governments with Arctic areas within their territories. This includes the Nordic countries with Greenland and the Faroe Islands, Canada, Russia, and the United States. The Council of Ministers is also an active participant in the Baltic Sea Initiative, which works to boost the region’s competitiveness and in the implementation of several areas of the EU’s Northern Dimension. In addition, the Council of Ministers is a partner of co-operation initiated by the Barents Council and the Barents Regional Council.

The Nordic Council of Ministers has offices in Estonia, Latvia , and  Lithuania.

There are a large number of Nordic owned institutions within the framework of the official co-operation. One of the institutions – the Nordic Investment Bank (NIB) – has had Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania as co-owners since 2005.


Marita Hoydal
Phone: 0045 29692915