Rules of Procedure for the Nordic Council


Publish date
The Nordic Council was formed in 1952 to coordinateco-operation between the parliamentsand governments of Denmark, Iceland, Norwayand Sweden. Finland joined in 1955. When theNordic Council of Ministers was formed in 1971,the Nordic Council was transformed into a purelyinter-parliamentary body. The Council consists of 87 MPs elected by thenational parliaments. The delegations from theFaroe Islands and Greenland form part of theDanish delegation. The delegation from Ålandforms part of the Finnish delegation. The Councillaunches initiatives of its own, acts in an advisorycapacity, acts in a supervisory capacity and playsa proactive role in official Nordic co-operation.The Nordic Council bodies consist of the Plenary,Presidium and committees.
Publication number