2001 Jan Kjærstad, Norway: Oppdageren

2001 Jan Kjærstad, Norge: Oppdageren

About the author

Jan Kjærstad was born in Oslo, is a theology graduate and made his literary debut in 1980 with the collection of short stories The Earth Turns Quietly. Jan Kjærstad is a philosophically-oriented epic writer, who scrutinises modern man and his relational problems. He has written nine novels, been engaged in a host of literary projects, but has also been active as a critic. Jan Kjærstad has received various well-known prizes, e.g. the Dobloug Prize from the Swedish Academy.

About the winning piece

The Discoverer completes the trilogy about the TV personality Jonas Wergeland. The first two books in the trilogy are The Seducer and The Conqueror, and they all describe a TV producer and his everyday life, which is framed by pronounced professional successes. His life takes a dramatic turn when he returns from a trip abroad and finds his wife dead, bathed in blood. Having served a seven-year sentence for murder, he returns to a quieter life than before. He is invited on a boat trip along the coast of Norway to complete a research project on Norway together with a group of young people. One of these young people has taken on another task – to research Jonas Wergeland. She wants to understand why he committed the murder – whether he really did it.

Oppdageren (The Discoverer)

Published by: Aschehoug publishing company 

Publication year: 1999

This is what the Adjudicating Committee had to say

In the novel we follow Jonas Wergelund on a voyage of discovery through Norway, which is also a journey into our recent past. Kjærstad’s style is profoundly original and innovative, and the text gives the reader great challenges and rich reading pleasure.