Facts about the Nordic countries

Nordiske flag
Søren Sigfusson/norden.org
The Nordic Region consists of Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, and Iceland, as well as the Faroe Islands, Greenland, and Åland. You can find useful information about the Nordic Region and each of its countries here.

Facts about Denmark

Denmark, the most southerly of the Nordic countries, is a small, densely populated country, made up of a large of islands skirted by lovely beaches.

Facts about Finland

Lakes and forests characterise the expansive Finnish landscape. Finland is also renowned for mobile phones, design and Moomins.

Facts about Iceland

Iceland, the volcanic island in the north Atlantic is famous for its hot springs and dramatic scenery.

Facts about Norway

For many, Norway is synonymous with oil and mountains. Its dramatic, beautiful scenery stretches from the beaches and cliffs in the south through the mountainous areas in the middle to the midnight sun at the North Cape.

Facts about Sweden

The largest country in the Nordic Region is also the one with the biggest population. For many, Sweden is synonymous with the production of high-quality cars, iron and steel.

Facts about the Faroe Islands

Fisheries and rugged scenery characterise the Faroe Islands, an archipelago in the North Atlantic.

Facts about Greenland

The inhabitants of Greenland originate from Central Asia. The country is part of the North American continent, but geopolitically the island is part of Europe.

About Åland

Åland consists of 6,757 islands situated midway between Sweden and Finland. Although Åland is part of Finland, Ålanders speak Swedish.