Co-operation programmes (MR-JUST)

Nordic cooperation programme for the justice sector 2019–2022

Nordic co-operation, which involves Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland, was formalised with the establishment of the Nordic Council in 1952.

The Helsinki Treaty, signed a decade later in 1962, is the formal political document that regulates Nordic co-operation. In 1971, the Nordic Council of Ministers was established in order to facilitate co-operation between the governments of the Nordic countries and the devolved parliaments of the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland. The Helsinki Treaty was most recently amended in 1995.

Co-operation on legislative affairs is a tool used by the Nordic countries to promote the basic principles of Nordic law in accordance with shared Nordic values. The co-operation is also a tool used in work on European law and for facilitating the implementation of EU/EEA acts and other international obligations.

Contact information