Michael Tetzschner, President of the Nordic Council for 2018

President Michael Tetzschner
Magnus Fröderberg/Norden.org
Michael Tetzschner has been elected as the President of the Nordic Council for 2018.

Michael Tetzschner is a member of the Norwegian parliament. He represents the Norwegian Conservative Party and has served in the parliament since 2009. He has also been a member of the Nordic Council since the same year. Michael Tetzschner is currently the chair of the Norwegian delegation to the Nordic Council and vice-chair of the Conservative Group. He is a qualified lawyer and arbitrator.

During Tetzschner’s tenure and Norway’s presidency of the Nordic Council in 2018, efforts will continue to remove barriers to the freedom of movement between the Nordic countries. The Norwegian presidency will focus in particular on Nordic co-operation in health, education, the marine environment, and defence.