Klaus Elfving
3TM is nominated for the 2020 Nordic Council Music Prize for the work “Lake”, album (2019).


3TM is a jazz trio consisting of producer and drummer Teppo Mäkynen, bassist Antti Lötjönen and saxophonist Jussi Kannaste. In the music on their album Lake (We Jazz Records WJCD16, 2019), the combination of acoustic playing and electronic elements assumes almost philosophical dimensions. The album combines ambient electronics with acoustic jazz expression in an exceptionally interactive and creative way. Despite the electronic aspects, or perhaps because of them, the human voice strongly permeates the entire work, and the music speaks to the listener on a deeply personal level, interpreted by musicians with technical and emotional skills. In the end, echoes of the album’s minimalist, reflective elements continue to reverberate at the back of your mind like an enigmatic magnifying glass upon life. The ensemble’s members are cornerstones of the Finnish jazz scene, and their first album together, Form (2017), was rewarded with a Jazz-Emma (Finland’s answer to the Grammy). In the same year, as a prelude to Lake, they released the ambient work Abyss – A Prelude to the Lake (We Jazz Records WJCD1682, 2019).