13 nominees for the Nordic Council Children and Young People’s Literature Prize 2014

26.03.14 | News
Göran Montan
Magnus Fröderberg/norden.org
The Adjudication Committee for the new Nordic Council Children and Young People’s Literature Prize has now announced the nominations for the prize in 2014.

The Adjudication Committee presented the 13 nominated works for the newly established Children and Young People’s Literature Prize at the Bologna Children's Book Fair on Wednesday.

The prize, which the Nordic Council in partnership with the Nordic ministers of culture, decided to establish last year, is the fifth in the series of prestigious Nordic Council prizes.

Göran Montan, Vice-Chair of the Nordic Council’s Culture and Education Committee, said at the launch in Bologna:

"I really hope that the Nordic Council Children and Young People’s Literature Prize will play a part in raising and improving knowledge of Nordic culture and, not least, also improving the reading skills of our children, both in Italy, in the Nordic Countries, in Europe, and perhaps worldwide."

The following works are nominated for the Nordic Council Children and Young People’s Literature Prize 2014:


Louis Jensen and Lilian Brøgger (ill.)
Halli! Hallo! Så er der nye firkantede historier (Halli! Hallo! So there are new square stories)
Gyldendal, 2012

Hanne Kvist
To af alting (Two of everything)
Gyldendal, 2013


Annika Sandelin and Karoliina Pertamo (ill.)
Råttan Bettan och masken Baudelaire.
Babypoesi och vilda ramsor (Bettan the rat and Baudelaire the worm. Baby poetry and wild nursery rhymes)
Schildts & Söderströms, 2013

Ville Tietäväinen and Aino Tietäväinen
Vain pahaa unta (Just a bad dream)
WSOY, 2013


Andri Snær Magnason
Tímakistan (The Casket of Time)
Mál og menning, 2013

Lani Yamamoto
Stína stórasæng (Stina with the big duvet)
Crymogea, 2013


Gro Dahle and Kaia Linnea Dahle Nyhus (ill.)
Krigen (The War)
Cappelen Damm, 2013

Håkon Øvreås and Øyvind Torseter (ill.)
Brune (Brown)
Gyldendal, 2013


Eva Lindström
Olli och Mo (Olli and Mo)
Alfabeta Bokförlag, 2012

Sofia Nordin
En sekund i taget (One Second at a Time)
Rabén & Sjögren, 2013


Kathrine Rosing and Nina Spore Kreutzmann (ill.)
Nasaq teqqialik piginnaanilik (The Magic Cap)
Milik Publishing, 2012

The Faroe Islands

Bárður Oskarsson
Flata kaninin (The Flat Rabbit)
Bókadeildin, 2011

The Sami Language Area

Máret Ánne Sara
Ilmmiid Gaskkas (Between worlds)
DAT, 2013