About the Election Committee

The Election Committee prepares and submits proposals for the elections that are held during the plenary assembly.

The Election Committee consists of seven members from five Nordic countries. All party groups are represented and the Election Committee appoints its own Chairperson and Vice Chairperson.

Based on the nominations of the party groups (and members who don't belong to any party group), the Election Committee presents the candidates for the elections which take place in the plenary assembly. The delegations, however, nominate the President and Vice President and members of the Nordic Investment Bank's control committee, the board of the Nordic Culture Fund and the Nordic Council on Disability Policy.

The Election Committee endeavours to take account of a national and gender balance when making the nominations.

If there is a need for a bye-election between sessions, these will be proposed by the Election Committee to the Presidium.