Formal Nordic co-operation

Nordens hus på Ved Stranden
Mary Gestrin
The co-operation between the Nordic countries is the world’s oldest regional partnership. It involves Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland.

Nordic co-operation has deep roots in politics, economics and culture. In general, it focuses on areas where a Nordic approach generates added value for the countries and peoples of the Region – this is called Nordic synergy. In 2016, the prime ministers adopted the overarching objective of make the Nordic Region the most integrated region in the world.

Nordic co-operation seeks a strong Nordic voice in the world and an in European and international forums. The values shared by the Nordic countries help make the region one of the most innovative and competitive in the world.

The Nordic Council and the Nordic Council of Ministers

The Nordic Council of Ministers is the forum for inter-governmental co-operation, the Nordic Council for inter-parliamentary co-operation.

The Ministers for Nordic Co-operation are responsible for the work of the Nordic Council of Ministers. Nordic co-operation is based on the “Helsinki Treaty”, which stipulates that the co-operation ministers assist the prime ministers in the coordination of Nordic issues.

The Nordic Council is run by a presidium consisting of elected parliamentarians from all of the Nordic countries. The members discuss topical issues and the future of Nordic co-operation with the prime ministers once a year at a summit meeting held during the Session of the Nordic Council.

The Nordic Region – Together we are stronger

The ministers for Nordic co-operation issued ​​a joint statement on 6 February 2014 outlining their vision for Nordic co-operation. The declaration sets out a vision for Nordic co-operation as a whole.

The Nordic nations may be relatively small but we believe that it makes us stronger when we work with each other – and with others. This is our vision – our Nordic perspective.

Contact information