Nordic Council Literature Prize to Jon Fosse for Trilogien: Andvake (Sleepless). Olavs draumar (Olav’s Dreams). Kveldsvævd (Weariness)”.

27.10.15 | News
Vinder af Nordisk Råds litteraturpris 2015
Johannes Jansson/
The Norwegian author Jon Fosse was awarded the Literature Prize for his work Trilogien (The Trilogy): Andvake (Sleepless). Olavs draumar (Olav’s Dreams). Kveldsvævd (Weariness) at the ceremony in Reykjavík.

Fosse was handed the Northern Lights statuette and DKK 350,000 prize by last year’s winner, Kjell Westö.

The Adjudication Committee wrote:

“This year’s prize winner is a rare example of innovative style hand in hand with content that has the ability to touch readers across time and place. Conveyed in a highly poetic form of prose and with a wilfully playful attitude to the narrative, this love story spans all times and no time. Like few others, the author manages to chisel out a highly personal literary form. Weaving biblical allusions, Christian mysticism and poetic imagery into the tension of the plot in a way that opens up the story of two people in love to a wider world and to history.”

Read more about Jon Fosse on the Nordic Council Literature Prize website

Read more about the Nordic Council prizes