About the Nordic Committee for Co-operation (NSK)

The Committee for Co-operation is responsible for the day-to-day work of Nordic co-operation and for the Council of Ministers’ Secretariat in Copenhagen. It is composed of senior civil servants from the Nordic countries.

Although the prime ministers have formal responsibility for Nordic inter-governmental co-operation, in practice it is delegated to the Ministers for Nordic Co-operation, who in turn delegate ongoing co-ordination of day-to-day activity to the Nordic Committee for Co-operation (NSK).

The Committee is also responsible for the Nordic Council of Ministers’ Secretariat in Copenhagen, and prepares for and follows up on issues for the ministers.

As a rule, NSK meets 8–10 times a year. A civil servant from the country that currently holds the Presidency of the Council of Ministers acts as chair. The Presidency lasts for one full calendar year and rotates between the five nations.

Nordic co-operation offices in Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland co-ordinate work involving the Council of Ministers (the co-operation ministers) and the national administrations.

[The Secretariat to the Nordic Council of Ministers]

[National Secretariats for Nordic Co-operation]