Ministers for Co-operation (MR-SAM)

Although the prime ministers have formal responsibility for Nordic inter-governmental co-operation, in practice they delegate it to the Ministers for Co-operation (MR-SAM).


Postal Address

Ved Stranden 18
DK-1061 Köpenhamn K

+45 33 96 02 00


    Funding opportunities

    Ministers for Co-operation (MR-SAM)

    Nordic Migrant Expert Forum
    The Nordic Migrant Expert Forum is linked to the Nordic co-operation programme on the integration of refugees and immigrants and aims to provide a well-founded and diverse knowledge base for Nordic co-operation on integration.
    Go to organisation
    The Nordic Committee for Co-operation (NSK)
    The Committee for Co-operation is responsible for the day-to-day work of Nordic co-operation and for the Council of Ministers’ Secretariat in Copenhagen. It is composed of senior civil servants from the Nordic countries.
    Go to organisation
    Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Government of Greenland (GL)
    Faroese Government, Nordic Co-operation
    Nordic Co-operation Office (ÅL)
    Nordic Secretariat, Nordic Co-operation
    The Foreign Ministry, Nordic Co-operation, (FI)
    Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Nordic co-operation (NO)
    Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Nordic co-operation (SV)
    Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Secretariat for the Minister for Nordic Co-operation (DK)
    Expert Group for Sustainable Development
    The Expert Group advises the Nordic Co-operation Committee and the Ministers for Co-operation on sustainable development.
    Go to organisation
    Arctic Expert Committee
    An Advisory Expert Committee was established in conjunction with the adoption of the new Arctic Co-operation Programme in 2002. The Arctic Expert Committee is made up of Nordic members of the Arctic Council and representatives from the autonomous territories. In Nordic Council terms the Arctic Expert Committee will offer advice to the Ministers for Co-operation and the Nordic Co-operation Committee on matters relating to the Arctic.
    Go to organisation
    Secretariat for the Arctic Expert Committee
    The Freedom of Movement Council
    The Freedom of Movement Council is a politically appointed body, set up by the Nordic governments to promote freedom of movement in the Nordic region for people and companies. It started work in 2014. The chair rotates annually between the national representatives in line with the Presidency of the Nordic Council of Ministers. The chair and the Secretary General of the Council of Ministers have the overall responsibility for work on freedom of movement.
    Go to organisation
    Freedom of Movement
    Efforts relating to freedom of movement are a key area of Nordic co-operation and are included in the efforts to fulfil the vision of the Nordic prime ministers to make the Nordic Region the most integrated region in the world. These efforts are overseen by the Freedom of Movement Council, which was established in January 2014. Based on the renewal of the Freedom of Movement Council’s mandate in 2018, there is a quantitative goal of removing between eight and twelve obstacles to freedom of movement each year within the labour market, society, education, and business and industry.
    Go to organisation

    Informationstjenester under MR-SAM

    Go to organisation
    The Border Service
    The Border Service is a border and cross-agency co-operation between Sweden and Norway. The Border Service's main task is to receive and deal with questions from people and companies that take part in some form of cross-border activities.
    Go to organisation
    Info Norden
    Info Norden is the information service of the Nordic Council of Ministers. The purpose of the service is to make it easier for people to move between the Nordic countries.
    Go to organisation
    The Nordic Region in Focus
    The Nordic Region in Focus gives a Nordic angle to the national debate. The Nordic Region in Focus offices organise seminars and exhibitions on current topics such as politics, the environment, business and culture. The main target groups are civil servants, politicians, journalists and interest organisations.
    Go to organisation
    Nordic Information Office in South Jutland/South Schleswig
    The job of the Nordic Information Office is to provide information about formal Nordic co-operation and co-ordinate official Nordic activities in the border region between Denmark and Germany. It promotes Nordic culture via activities such as visits by authors, art exhibitions, concerts, reading groups and exchange visits to other Nordic countries. Its remit also includes enhancing knowledge of South Jutland and South Schleswig in the rest of the Nordic Region.
    Go to organisation
    Crossborder Tornedalen
    Crossborder Tornedalen provides specific advice on border problems, provides information and guidance to individuals, businesses and organisations that have cross-border activities in the North Calotte area of Finland/Sweden and Finland/Norway. In addition, Crossborder Tornedalen aims to improve freedom of movement.
    Go to organisation
    Øresunddirekt provides public service information from the authorities to citizens and businesses in the Øresund region. Øresund Direkt consists of a web editorial office in Copenhagen and an information centre in Hjälmaregatan 3 in Malmö. The Information Centre Øresunddirekt in Malmö is assisted on-site by staff from the Employment Service, Försäkringskassan (social insurance system), the County Board and Skatteverket (the tax agency) who provide information from the authorities from an Øresund perspective.
    Go to organisation
    The Nordic Committee for Children and Young People (NORDBUK)
    NORDBUK is the Council of Ministers’ advisory and co-ordinating body for issues relating to children and young people.
    Go to organisation
    NORDBUK Secretariat
    Nordic Exchange Programme (NORUT)
    This programme provides civil servants with the opportunity to learn how things are done in another Nordic country (or countries). A group consisting of one member each from Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland allocates the money earmarked for the annual pool.
    Go to organisation