Facts about Denmark

Dansk flagg
Silje Bergum Kinsten/ norden.org
Denmark, the most southerly of the Nordic countries, is a small, densely populated country, made up of a large of islands skirted by lovely beaches.

Denmark is the smallest of the five nations in the Nordic Region, with a total land mass approximately the same size as Finnmark County in Norway. On the other hand, Denmark has plenty of good arable land, and makes the most of this natural resource. With around 5.8 million inhabitants, Denmark is the most densely populated country in the Region. Roughly 1.3 million people live in and around the capital city, Copenhagen.

Denmark is a constitutional monarchy. Queen Margrethe II has no real political power, and the parliament, Folketinget, is the country’s highest authority. Denmark is a member of the EU, but has retained the krone as its currency. The country is also a member of NATO.

The most important sources of revenue in Denmark are oil and other forms of energy, the medical industry, agricultural produce, shipping and IT services.

GDP per capita is EUR 40,900 (2020)

Total area: 43,561 km2

Land area: 42,962 km2

Arable land, market gardens and orchards: 25,329 km2

Forests and plantations: 5,294 km2

Lakes and rivers: 671 km2

Largest lake: Arresø - 39.5 km km2

Highest point: Yding Skovhøj - 172.5 m

Coastline: 7,314 km

Average temperature in Copenhagen (2018): 10.4° C (maximum 33.1 °C, minimum -9.8 °C)

Mean precipitation (1961-1990): 712 mm

Precipitation in Copenhagen (2006): 823 mm

Population in 2020: 5,822,763

Population of the capital in 2016: 1,295,686 (Copenhagen, including suburbs) (1)

National day: 5 June (Constitution Day, 5 June 1849)

Form of government: Constitutional monarchy

Parliament: Folketinget (179 seats)

EU membership: Since 1 January 1973

NATO membership: Since 4 April 1949

Head of state: Queen Margrethe II

Head of government (since June 2019): Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen

Currency: Danish krone (DKK)

Official website: www.denmark.dk

Official language: Danish

1) Copenhagen, Frederiksberg, Albertslund, Brøndby, Gentofte, Gladsaxe, Glostrup, Herlev, Hvidovre, Lyngby-Taarbæk, Rødovre, municipalities of Tårnby and Vallensbæk and urban areas of Ballerup, Rudersdal, Furesø, Ishøj By, and Greve Strand.